How To Clear Items From Continue Watching on Netflix

how to clear netflix continue watching

In this tutorial, you will learn how to clear items from the continue watching list on Netflix streaming service linked to your account. With the help of instructions in this guide, you will be able to remove movies and shows from continue watching on Netflix so that they do not show up on the homepage of your Netflix profile.

Netflix is world’s number online video streaming service that continues to expand its services in new regions. This rapid expansion results in ever growing content library of movies, TV shows, documentaries, and local content aimed specifically at the people of that specific region. But you can follow this link to know how to access hidden genres that are not available in your region. Netflix also offers downloading feature for offline viewing. But there is one aspect of Netflix that keeps annoying its users. We are talking about the Continue Watching section. When you watch a movie or TV on Netflix, they are added to the Continue Watching list so that you can resume watching from where it was paused. This list comprises of all the movies and shows that you have watched but haven’t finished yet. Which could make the Netflix Home Page of your profile appear really untidy if it contains too many items. So here you can learn the best way to Netflix remove from continue watching section.

Also See: Browse Hidden Netflix Categories Using Chrome Extension

When you close a movie or show that you no longer want to watch, it doesn’t simply disappear. Netflix adds it to the Continue Watching in the Home Page. That item keeps showing in the Continue Watching even if you are not interesting in that movie or show anymore, which takes up room that could otherwise be used to add a movie or show which you do want to watch.

Netflix’s continue watching feature is designed to help users keep track of the movies and shows that they haven’t finished watching yet. It makes it easy to access unfinished videos without having to manually search or remember them. Although it is a useful feature, but sometimes the items that you are no longer interesting in watching also get added to the list and keep showing in the Continue Watching section.

See: How To Enable Netflix In Google Home

how to remove continue watching on netflix

In the following tutorial, i am going to show you how to clear the Continue Watching and remove movies or shows from this section of Netflix.

How To Remove Movies or TV Shows From Continue Watching on Netflix Home Page

There is not default option next to the Continue Watching listing itself that can be used to remove a movie or show from it. While you can watch it completely to get it removed from the section, but this is far from an ideal solution.

Only way users can remove items from the continue watching listing on Netflix is to clear them from the profile’s viewing history.

How To Access and Manage The Viewing History: Perform the following steps to access the viewing history of your Netflix account.

Step 1 – Click on your profile name in the top right corner of Netflix home page.

Step 2 – In the menu, click on Your Account.

Step 3 – In the account section, scroll down to the “My Profile” section, and click on the Viewing Activity link.

netflix viewing activity

This takes you to the profile’s viewing history which contains a list of all watched shows and movies in chronological order starting with the most recently viewed items. Do note that this list doesn’t differentiate between videos you have watched from start to finish and those that you are yet to finish watching.

Step 4 – Now to remove a desired movie or show from your continue watching history list, find it on the list and click on the ‘X’ button next to it. This will remove selected item from the history on all devices you use to access Netflix. It could take up to 24 hours for changes to take effect.

Note: When pressing X button, you will get a prompt asking whether you want to remove the entire series from your activity. This is useful if multiple undesired items show on the continue watching list or other sections of your Netflix profile.

Step 5 – You can now return to the home page of your Netflix account. The cleared movies and shows will no longer appear in the Continue Watching section.

Step 6 – That’s it.

You have successfully removed items from continue watching on Netflix. Clearing history could impact recommendations, so keep that in mind. Wait for at least 24 hours before deleted items vanish from the listing completely, but normally it takes less time.

See Also: Free Netflix Premium Accounts Usernames And Passwords

Using Multiple Netflix Profiles

Using separate profiles for one Netflix account is a nice way to keep viewing history separate for getting personalized recommendations, especially if you share your Netflix ID with friends and family.

You can create a new profile by clicking on the user icon at the top right corner and then select the manage profiles from the menu.

Click on the add profile to add a new one and name it accordingly. Just make sure that you are in the right profile to avoid clashing of watch history with other profiles.

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.